newsDenis Waterford 9105453

Staff of Waterford Treasures at the launch by Minister Heather Humphreys of the Local Authority Museums Network (LAMN) 1916 exhibitions and of an island-wide Museums survey on Wednesday last.

Included in the photo are, Minister Humphreys, Eamonn McEneaney, Rosemary Ryan.

The Minister for Arts, Heritage and the Gaeltacht, Heather Humphreys, has launched the new Local Authority Museums Network Strategy 2016 — 2019 ‘Preserving the Past — Shaping the Future’. The Local Authority Museums Network (LAMN) represents the 12 Local Authority Museums across Ireland, which play a vital role in the social, cultural and economic life of regions across Ireland.

The LAMN comprises Carlow County Museum; Cavan County Museum; Clare Museum, Cork Public Museum, County Museum, Dundalk; Donegal County Museum; Galway City Museum; Kerry County Museum; Limerick Museum; Monaghan County Museum; Tipperary County Museum and Waterford Treasures – Three Museums in the Viking Triangle.

The members of the LAMN strive to achieve best standards across all areas of museum work. The Museum Standards Programme of Ireland operates under the auspices of the Heritage Council and sets out to raise standards of care across Irish museums and galleries. The programme aims to benchmark and promote professional standards in collections care and to recognise the achievement of those standards within the Irish museum sector. The Programme is fully supported by the LAMN and its members have variously achieved Maintenance of Accreditation, Full Accreditation and Interim Accreditation.

The LAMN plays a vital role in preserving archaeological heritage. The members of the LAMN are designated museums under Section 68 (2) of the National Cultural Institutions Act, 1997. Under this legislation each Museum is legally entitled to retain archaeological objects on behalf of the State. The National Museum of Ireland will only lend objects for display to designated museums.